Russell Kane

Russell Kane - Writer - Performer - Awards Host - After Dinner Speaker

Acclaimed stand-up comedian, writer and performer Russell Kane has firmly established himself as one of hottest tipped comics in the UK.

His career started in 2004, when he won the Laughing Horse new act competition, and the following year he was nominated for best newcomer in the Chortle awards.

Russell Kane was nominated for the main prize at the Edinburgh Fringe in 2008 and 2009, and best newcomer in 2006 before winning the main prize in 2010.


Fresh from being short-listed once again for the highest accolade at the Edinburgh Festival, the triple-Edinburgh Comedy Award nominee is currently on the road, having completed his twice-extended tour - Human Dressage - which saw him play to sell-out crowds at the prestigious Bloomsbury Theatre  - in addition to touring his critically acclaimed hit Fakespeare: The Tragickal Saveings of King Nigel, a bawdy romp set in a modern-day Essex where everyone speaks in Shakespearean verse.

Russell’s career has moved on apace. He’s joined ITV2’s ‘I’m a Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here Now’ presenting team, broadcasting live each night from the Jungle; he’s made an acclaimed appearance on BBC One’s flagship live comedy show ‘Live at the Apollo’, alongside host Al Murray, The Pub Landlord; embarked on two national tours, within just six months of the other; hosted series 5 and 6 of ‘Out To Lunch’, BBC Radio 2’s Saturday lunchtime comedy show; completed a nine-week national tour of Australia, which included a full run at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival; and played Fakespeare, by special invitation from the RSC, at Stratford-upon-Avon.

A regular on TV and radio, other credits include presenting an acclaimed week-long residency on ‘Big Brother’s Big Mouth’ (Channel 4 & E4) and travelling across the US filming a series of travelogues and celebrity interviews for five US.

Russell has recently appeared at the Edinburgh Festival with his new show ‘Smokescreens and Castles’ for which he won the coveted Comedy Award.